Friday Headlines

the weekly newsletter from Dr Ruth Weeks, Headmistress

Librarian Top Picks

01 March 2019

Don't know what to read next? Stuck reading the same books over and over? Want a suggestion you can trust? These top picks will include books from all genres, new or old and are hand-picked by the librarian to pique your interest. The best bit is they are all available in the school library.

It’s not about the Burqa - by Mariam Khan - suitable for older readers
When was the last time you heard a Muslim woman speak for herself without a filter? In 2016, Mariam Khan read that David Cameron had linked the radicalization of Muslim men to the ‘traditional submissiveness’ of Muslim women. Mariam felt pretty sure she didn’t know a single Muslim woman who would describe herself that way. Why was she hearing about Muslim women from people who were neither Muslim, nor female? Years later the state of the national discourse has deteriorated even further, and Muslim women’s voices are still pushed to the fringes – the figures leading the discussion are white and male. What does it mean, exactly, to be a Muslim woman in the West today? According to the media, it’s all about the burqa. This book is what it’s really about.

On the Come Up - by Angie Thomas - suitable for Year 9+
The award-winning author of The Hate U Give returns with a powerful story about hip hop, freedom of speech – and fighting for your dreams, even as the odds are stacked against you. Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got massive shoes to fill. But when her first song goes viral for all the wrong reasons, Bri finds herself at the centre of controversy and portrayed by the media as more menace than MC. And with an eviction notice staring her family down, Bri no longer just wants to make it – she has to. Even if it means becoming the very thing the public has made her out to be.

The Fall and Rise of the Amir Sisters - by Nadia Hussain - suitable for all
The four Amir Sisters - Fatima, Farah, Bubblee and Mae - are as close as sisters can be but sometimes even those bonds can be pushed to their limits… Becoming a mother has always been Farah’s dream so when older sister Fatima struggles with a tough pregnancy whilst Farah has trouble conceiving she can’t help but be jealous. Until a plan to break a huge cultural taboo in her family, and use a surrogate gives her a renewed hope. But nothing is ever that easy in this warm, witty look at a modern British family.

Everything Everything - by Nicola Yoon - suitable for all
Maddy is allergic to the world; stepping outside the sterile sanctuary of her home could kill her. But then Olly moves in next door. And just like that, Maddy realizes there's more to life than just being alive. You only get one chance at first love. And Maddy is ready to risk everything, everything to see where it leads. A romance for fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven, quirky, bittersweet and gripping.
 

Back to Friday Headlines

Previous Article

Next Article


Click image for full view