Friday Headlines

the weekly newsletter from Dr Ruth Weeks, Headmistress

Librarian Top Picks

26 October 2018

Don't know what to read next? Stuck reading the same books over and over? Want a suggestion you can trust? These top picks will include books from all genres, new or old and are hand-picked by the librarian to pique your interest. The best bit is they are all available in the school library.

Side Effects May Vary - by Julie Murphy - suitable for Year 9+
“Side Effects May Vary” is the perfect book for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukaemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces her best friend, Harvey, to help her with a crazy bucket list that's as much about revenge as it is about hope. But just when Alice's scores are settled, she goes into remission, and now she must face the consequences of all she's said and done.

Plastic - by Sarah N Harvey - suitable for Year 9+
“Plastic” is a novel following Jack, who if he develops an interest in something, he puts his all into it, making lists, doing research and learning all he can. When his best friend Leah decides to have plastic surgery for her sixteenth birthday, Jack is horrified--and then determined to stop her. Researching the surgery and the results, he finds that there are unscrupulous surgeons operating on the very young, and no one does anything about it. Jack organizes a protest and becomes an instant celebrity. But when someone else takes up the cause and the protest turns violent, Jack is forced to make some tough decisions.

Candy - by Lavie Tidhar - suitable for all 
“Candy” is the book where Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets Bugsy Malone. In a city where all chocolate and sweets have been banned, Nelle Faulkner is a 12-year-old private detective looking for her next client. So when notorious candy gangster Eddie de Menthe walks into her office (her dad's garden shed) and asks her to find a missing teddy bear, Nelle takes the case. But as soon as the teddy turns up, Eddie himself goes missing. Can Nelle track them both down... before she comes to a sticky end?

And the Band Played on - by Randy Shilts - suitable for older readers
“And the Band Played on” is a masterpiece of investigative reporting. It is the definitive history of the spread of AIDS throughout the USA in the 1980’s. Randy Shilts was employed by the The San Francisco Chronicle to cover gay issues in 1981, the year AIDS came to international attention, and from 1982 Shilts devoted himself to covering the story of the disease and its medical, social and political implications. Shilts asks: how was this epidemic allowed to spread so far before it was taken seriously? Extensively researched, weaving together the personal stories of those in the gay community and the medical and political establishments with political and social reporting, he exposes how AIDS was ignored, or denied, as a threat by many national institutions. And the Band Played On shows that the greatest health crisis of the twentieth-century spread wildly as the Federal government put its budget ahead of public health while scientists were often more concerned with maintaining their prestige than saving lives.


 

Back to Friday Headlines

Previous Article

Next Article